The PhotoBook

November 20, 2008

Douglas Stockdale – In Passing

Filed under: Photo Book NEWS, Photo Books — Tags: , , — Doug Stockdale @ 5:57 pm

in-passing-2nde-cover

In Passing, Second Edition, by Douglas Stockdale, Blurb 2008

Yes, yours truely, just published the second edition of In Passing, the series that I developed from late 2005 – 2007.  Twenty of the photographs from the series werer published in LensWork Magazine (#74 Jan-Feb 2008) and earlier this year that I had self-published the First Edition in a smaller, softbound book.

This is a hardbound book with an Image Wrap cover, in the large 11 x 13″ format, 36 photographs, 80 pages, and printed on the Blurb premium 100 lb luster paper.

I feel that in retrospect, that I better understand my reason for the development of this series.  This new edition is an improved attempt to capture the elusive traces of emotion that deal with tragedy, grief, sorrow, and eventually acceptance with the passage of time.

I had already sent my book files to the printer and was in the middle of finalizing the publication, when I had received a comment back from Ben Roberts about his book One More Night. He had stated that after reviewing his published book, that he was already considering a second edition, to change some of his photographs for some stronger images. Essentially, that was one of the prime drivers behind my second edition, to eliminate some weaker images and get to the essence of my series. Thus I reduced the amount of photographs from 48 to 36 in the Second Edition.

Second concern were the changes that I have made to about 25% of the photographs. After evaluating a new paper, Harman FB Mp, I was able to create photographs that were more in line with the spirit of the image. There were aspects of some of my photographs, when printed on this new Harman media, made my prior photographs look chunky and overworked. Not so good. After tweaking the images, the revised photographs were so much better, that the first Edition of my book no longer represented what this series now looked like. Much of this I have detailed on my personal journal, Singular Images.

The last reason for this book, is too take advantage of a new 100 lb luster paper option by my publisher, Blurb. After reviewing Ben’s book One More Night which was published on this paper, I don’t think any photographers who are self-publishing a POD series would want to print on any other media.

Best regards, Doug Stockdale

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,816 other followers

