The PhotoBook

October 15, 2010

Douglas Stockdale – Milan Fashion Week

Filed under: Photo Books — Doug Stockdale @ 10:22 pm

Welcome_2_Milano-Fashion_Week

Milan Fashion Week  all photographs Copyright Douglas Stockdale

If you were wondering what I have been doing as of late with my recent lack of photobook updates, this can be traced to a burning desire for me to complete a photo-project that I had initiated late last year, titled Milan Fashion Week.

I have just completed the development and sequencing of my project, Milan Fashion Week, which is currently available in a blog style photobook layout. More about this conceptual presentation in just a moment. BTW, what follows is not your normal photographic artistic statement, I am just not up to that today. And of course, I am not going to attempt to review my own work, it is difficult enough to create your own work, least try figure out what it means to me or you, so for this project, I will gladly leave that task to others. So if you have been on the receiving end of my reviews, you might say this is your turn!

First, if you have not been following my project’s progression on Singular Images, my personal photo-blog, here is the background story. I initially conceived the idea while I was in Milano Italy during Fashion Week in 2009. Since I feel that every good professional photographer should have a fashion portfolio, I decided that this was an excellent time to investigate the fashion industry and develop mine. Milano is the number one fashion city, and Milano’s Fashion Week is also a must for the Fashion industry, so this place and event should give me plenty of raw material to work from. nice. (okay, this is probably the time to provide the sarcasm warning alert, which I hope is self-evident when you review my project).

 After returning to SoCal in October last year and as a result a series of mis-adventures, I placed this project on hold. Occasionally while traveling through Italy this last year, I found myself reacting to some related fashion situations, but it was my trip to Milano last month in September, the month of Fashion Week, which provided me with the opportunity to finish this project.

The initial concept was finding ready-make images that I could then develop as my own, but then the project morphed a little and became a bit of a delightful mash-up.

When I conceived of this project, it was with the intent to publish it, but also a vehicle to explore some other digital and virtual design concepts. Using a blog with some careful forethought about sequencing and design, I crafted a digital version of this project, which might also be considered a virtual photobook dummy. The layout is a vertical strip of photographs that sequences each image by a series of blog posts. That provided me with some additional editing options. By setting the blog defaults, I am able to sequence all 35 images on the blog’s front page, thus the entire project can be sequentially scrolled through its entirety. Perhaps with a slight tilt to the Japanese or Chinese manner of reading from top to bottom than the American-European manner of experiencing a photobook.

Interestingly, this project blog predates the launch of the i-Pad, which I now wonder how this virtual photobook might fit and function on this and similar devices. Just not enough for me to go and invest in one, so if you can look at this blog project on an i-Pad or similar, I would appreciate your comments. please. (or ship me an i-Pad, which would probably be acceptable alternative!)

As a photobook reviewer, it is my intent that at some point this virtual photobook will be published in a hand-held medium, perhaps by myself, perhaps with another publisher. I am open to suggestions;- )

I hope you enjoy it as much as I have,

Best regards, Douglas

Fashion_Week_Cat_Walk

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 11,850 other followers

