The PhotoBook

August 6, 2015

A change in my photobook commentaries

Dragana_Jursic-YU_The_Lost_Country_2

Photograph copyright Dragana Jursic 2015 (YU The Lost Country)

I have been contemplating some changes to this blog for a while now, due to a combination of factors. First is the large quantity of photobooks that are being published at an almost dizzying rate since I started this blog in 2008. Second is the growing quantity of high quality, creative and delightful contemporary photobooks and self-published artists books. At times I am overwhelmed with wonderful photobooks, and while taking the necessary to spend time to enjoy each of these, this precludes having the time to writing about them. Yet these great books deserve a shout out to the photographic book community at large to increase the awareness, part of the purpose of this blog.

Second half of this is the time that I have available to write about photobooks is shared with time I can spend on my personal photographic projects and photobooks (yes, I do have a day job that can be equally demanding). Thus the more time I spend with the books of others, the less time I have to spend on developing my own. Regretfully this is a balancing act and one that I have not been too good at with both parts suffering as of late.

Now here is the thing, I really enjoy creative photobooks, so I will continue to collect. Second, I am a photo-blogger so I will continue to write about photobooks. Thus I am going to try using my Facebook format on this blog for a while to provide a more concise shout out about the books I like. You should see more book shout outs and a lot more often that before. That in turn should allow me some guilt-free time to work on my own photographic projects. nice!

So let’s see how this works for a while.

Cheers!

2 Comments »

  1. Sounds like a great plan! Thank you for all you efforts Douglas. Cheers, John

    Comment by John Menneer — August 6, 2015 @ 11:21 pm

  2. thanks John, very much appreciated!

    Comment by Doug Stockdale — August 7, 2015 @ 12:13 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

