The PhotoBook

October 22, 2015

Jeannette Montgomery Barron – My Mothers Clothes

Jeannette_Montgomery_Barron-My_Mothers_Clothes_cover

Copyright 2009 Jeannette Montgomery Barron

Photographer: Jeannette Montgomery Barron (born Atlanta, GA, resides Rome, IT & Connecticut, USA)

Publisher: Welcome Books (USA)

Essays: James D. Barron, Patrick Kinmonth, captions by Jeannette Montgomery Barron

Text: English

Hardcover book with dust jacket, sewn binding, four-color lithography, printed in China

Photobook designer: Kristen Sasamoto

Notes: Barron creates a portrait of her late mother through still life images of her cherished clothing, shoes, and personal possessions. As her mother’s struggle with Alzheimer’s progressed, robbing her of any remembered past, Barron began a visual album as a way of both sparking her mother’s memories, as well as coping with her own sense of loss, and in the process creating unique and personal remembrances. Having lost my own mother to Alzheimer’s, I found this photobook to be a very poignant and touching narrative.

Cheers

Jeannette_Montgomery_Barron-My_Mothers_Clothes_1

Jeannette_Montgomery_Barron-My_Mothers_Clothes_2

Jeannette_Montgomery_Barron-My_Mothers_Clothes_3

Jeannette_Montgomery_Barron-My_Mothers_Clothes_4

Jeannette_Montgomery_Barron-My_Mothers_Clothes_5

Jeannette_Montgomery_Barron-My_Mothers_Clothes_6

Jeannette_Montgomery_Barron-My_Mothers_Clothes_7

Jeannette_Montgomery_Barron-My_Mothers_Clothes_8

1 Comment »

  1. this is a very interesting way to testify about someone’s life.

    Comment by mariasachakpochard — November 15, 2015 @ 2:17 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

